Chaitra Navratri is celebrated in India in honor of goddess Durga. It falls on  28th March 2017 and ends with Ram Navmi on 5th April. Chaitra Navratri significance of this festival is when the divine power restored Dharma. Goddess Durga also known and worshiped as goddess Shakti (Power). Goddess shakti (Power) is worshiped in nine forms. Following is a complete schedule of Chaitra Navaratri 2017, its dates and with Shubh Muhurat (Auspicious time) timings, according to the Hindu Calendar.

image courtesy:

Navratri Day 1: 28th March 2017 – Shailputri Puja

The first day of Chaitra Navaratri festival starts on March 28, Tuesday. This is the main day of chaitra navratri, On this day Hindu people do Kalash Sthapana, Muhurta time of Kalash Sthapana starts from 08:26 morning to 10:24 am.

Navratri Day 2: 29th March 2017- Brahmacharini Puja

The second day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on March 29, Wednesday. On this second day, Goddess Brahmacharini is worshiped. This second day is also known as Dwitya. It is strongly believed in Hindus that Goddess Brahmacharini controls Lord mangal and hence it brings happiness and prosperity.

Navratri Day 3: 30th March 2017 –Chandraghanta Puja

The third day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on March 30, Thursday. On this day Goddess Chandraghanta is worshiped. It is strongly believed in Hindus that Goddess Chandraghanta governs the shukra (Venus) planet. This day is also known as Gauri Tritiya.

Navratri Day 4: 31st March 2017 – Kushmanda Puja

The fourth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on March 31, Friday. On this day Goddess Kushmanda is worshiped. It is believed in Hindus Goddess Kushmanda governs the Surya (God Sun) which is the source of energy and direction of Sun.

Navratri Day 5: 1st April 2017 – Skandamata Puja

The fifth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on April 01, Saturday. On this day Goddess Skandamata is worshiped, which governs Budh Planet (Mercury), on this day special red color flowers are offered to Goddess Skandamata. Those who worship Goddess Skandamata, gets the benefit of worshipping Lord Kartikeya. This day is also  is also known as Lakshmi Panchami,  Goddess Lakshmi ( Goddess of Wealth)

Navratri Day 6: 2nd April 2017 – Katyayani Puja

The sixth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on April 2, Sunday. On this day Goddess Katyayani is worshiped, which governs planet Bṛhaspati (Jupiter).

Navratri Day 7: 3rd April 2017 – Kalaratri Puja

The seventh day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on April 3, Monday. On this day Goddess Kalaratri is worshiped, which governs planet Saturn (Shani).

Navratri Day 8: 4th April 2017 – Durga Maha Ashtami

The eighth day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on April 4, Tuesday. On this Goddess, Mahagauri is worshiped.On this special puja is formed known as sandhi puja. Some people ends their fast, who were fasting for last seven days.

Navratri Day 9: 5th April 2017 – Rama Navami

The ninth and final day of Chaitra Navaratri festival is on April 5, Wednesday. On this ninth day, Goddess Siddhidatri is worshiped. It is believed Goddess Siddhidatri provides energy and direction to planet Uranus( Ketu). On this ninth day  Chaitra Navaratri ends, this day (birth of Lord Rama),  is also known as Navami.


image courtesy: