Before we start to know that what is the gluten-free diet, let’s get to know our actual guilty agent in our food. Gluten is a specific type of protein, but its never found in meat or eggs. Instead gluten is found in wheat, rye, and barley. Becoming gluten-free means avoiding all these grains. A gluten-free diet is essential for most people with gluten allergies or celiac disease, a condition which causes intestinal damage when gluten is eaten.

People on a gluten-free diet needs to check labels. We have to say no for Some ingredient, like wheat, wheat gluten, barley, or rye. But some foods have “stealth” gluten. Two terms to watch for are malt (which is made from barley) and hydrolyzed vegetable protein (it often contains wheat). And while oats do not contain gluten, they may also increase symptoms, including abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhea.

Bye-Bye to Bread … Mostly

Variety of bread

Perhaps the most difficult step in a gluten-free diet is bidding farewell to bread as you know it — that includes white, wheat, marble, and rye. Also off limits are bagels, muffins, croissants, hamburger buns, scones — you get the idea. Yes, even pizza. But don’t despair. There are alternatives.

Gluten-Free Bread Choices

Gluten-free-bread

Many health foods stores and some major supermarkets now carry gluten-free products, including an assortment of breads. These are often made with rice or potato flour instead of wheat products. Just check the label to make sure it says “100% gluten-free.”

Cereals Have Gluten

gluten1

Traditional breakfast cereals are another casualty for people on a gluten-free diet. Cream of Wheat is obviously out, but so are many other favorites. Cheerios contains wheat starch, while Frosted Flakes uses malt flavoring. Read the list of ingredients and avoid any cereal containing wheat, barley, rye, or malt.

Relish Corn and Rice Cereals

corn

Corn and rice-based cereals are good breakfast alternatives, but it’s crucial to read labels carefully, as some may also contain malt. You may want to check your supermarket’s health-food section for gluten-free products.

Pasta

Pasta-Recipes-2

It’s true, no matter what its shape or name, most pasta is made out of wheat. So you’ll need to avoid regular spaghetti, macaroni, shells, and spirals when you’re on a gluten-free diet. Instead, look for pasta made from rice, corn, or quinoa.

Rice and Potatoes

boiled potato
boiled potato

On a gluten-free diet? Say hello to filling, flexible rice and potatoes. You can top them with just about anything, mix them into meals, or enjoy them on their own. Still mourning the loss of your favorite pasta? Here’s a secret: When you’re really craving a bowl of spaghetti, it is possible to find gluten-free pasta — just think rice noodles.

Crackers Are Made of Wheat

crackers01

Check out the ingredients label and you’ll find that most crackers have wheat as one of their main ingredients. Your mission? Find an alternative venue for your favorite cheeses.

Breaded Foods

nuggets

Check the ingredients, but the crunchy coating on most chicken nuggets and fish sticks is generally made from wheat flour.

Cookies and Cakes

tea_pastries

While a gluten-free diet won’t contain most traditional cakes, pies, cookies, and other celebratory treats — which are loaded with wheat flour — there are still lots of ways to satisfy your sweet tooth.

Sweet and Chewy Treats

candy

Marshmallows, gumdrops, plain hard candies — these are all usually gluten-free. But it doesn’t have to stop there. Look for specialty bakeries that may be able to create custom-ordered gluten-free cakes, pies, and other treats, too.

Beer Contains Gluten

beer

Unfortunately for fans of the six-pack, most beers are made with barley malt. While there are some gluten-free beers, it’s best to check with your doctor or dietitian about whether these are safe for you.

You Can Still Raise a Glass

Wine and liquors are generally gluten-free, so you can still raise a glass and offer a toast, no matter what the occasion.

So Much More to Enjoy

Along with wine, potatoes, and rice, there are even more delicious foods and drinks that are safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, such as eggs, fish, meat, fruits, vegetables, and milk products.

A small note: When using frozen or canned fruits and vegetables, check for additives that might contain gluten. The same goes for processed cheese spreads and flavored yogurts.

When Dining Out, Talk It Out

One of the biggest challenges in maintaining a gluten-free diet is decoding a restaurant menu. Don’t be shy. Talk with your server or the chef and explain your dietary needs — they’re there to satisfy you.

The gluten-free diet isn’t always easy. People who benefit generally need to stick with the diet for life. That means giving up many staples, such as bread and pasta, and treats like cake and cookies. But it’s getting ever easier to find gluten-free alternatives, and careful planning can help you stay gluten-free long-term.

Comments

Dog